Almost every LGBTQ+ entrepreneur has encountered unequal access to key resources needed to advance their business. In 2009, Darren Spedale, Bryan Janeczko, Joe DiPasquale, and Lorenzo Thione founded StartOut, an LGBTQ non-profit to promote LGBTQ equality and combat discrimination in the business world. Since then, StartOut has become a champion for the LGBTQ+ entrepreneurial community providing the resources entrepreneurs need to succeed, promoting the successes of our community, and researching the economic impacts of LGBTQ+ discrimination.

Board of Directors

  • Vivienne Ming
  • Chris Young
    Vice Chair
  • Ty Sheppard
  • Chris Fraley
  • Alex Capecelatro
  • Andy Wheeler
  • Charles Lorum
  • Chris Sinton
    Chair Emeritus
  • James Bain
  • Jody Michael
  • JT Batson
  • Lindsay Nuon
  • Lorenzo Thione
    Co-Founder and Chair Emeritus
  • Nick Hendra
  • Patrick Grosso
    Chair Emeritus
  • Sayan Gomel
  • Suzanne Killea

Board of Advisors

  • Mike Sullivan
    Chair, Board of Advisors
  • Alex Greenbaum
  • Amy Errett
  • Anne Dorman
  • Bruce Kikuyama
  • Bryan Janeczko
  • Chip Conley
  • Chris Chin
  • Chris Davidson
  • Conor Madigan
  • Darren Spedale
    Co-Founder and Chair Emeritus
  • Dan Davis
  • David Blumberg
  • David Spitzer
  • Gabe Zichermann
  • James Rushing
  • Jared Delaney-Smith
  • Jim Sherman
  • Jory Sandusky
  • Len Lanzi
  • Marie Trexler
  • Mark Lacy
  • Mary Shea
  • Michael Berl
  • Michael Witbrock
  • Mike Schultz
  • Nicole Dogwill
  • Patrick Chung
  • Scott E. Miller
  • Scott Thacker
  • Thomas Gaynor
  • Tom Burke
  • Wasim Ahmad


  • Andres Wydler
    Executive Director
  • Sarah Burgaud
    Director of Programs
  • Tony Uceda
    Director of Development
  • Liz Jones
    Senior Marketing Manager
  • Ben Greenlea
    Program Director, StartOut Index
  • Blake McCammon
    Events & Volunteer Manager
  • Amanda Coopersmith
    Systems & Operations Manager
  • Nizar Fraj
    Program Fellow